Summer Pot Pie

Last week I tried my hand at homemade chicken pot-pie. I used a combination of leftover turkey and chicken breast, and an unusual combination of vegetables. My dad has always been the pot-pie maker in our house, so it was a daunting task to undertake, knowing that one of the samplers would be the anointed “King of Pot Pie”. I decided to use anything and everything I could find in the fridge that I thought might work in the pie.

Ingredients:

Homemade Crust (or Store Bought)

Flour

Butter

Eggs

Water

Filling:

Olive Oil

Leftover Chicken/Turkey Scraps (No bones or grizzle)

Onion/Shallots

Garlic

Kale

Carrots

Red Bell Pepper

Flour

Milk

Thyme

Summer Savory

Dash of Cayenne Pepper

Salt & Black Pepper

Right now the exact recipe is incognito in the house, but you can use any pot-pie recipe from the web until I find mine and substitute veggies and seasoning to your taste preferences, just be creative. This pie ended up tasting unlike any other pot pie I’ve had, with a sweet flavor from the bell peppers, carrots, and summer savory seasoning.

-Ray

Leave a Reply

