The First Two Weeks of Sevilla and a Short Tapas Rave

Two weeks in Seville couldn’t have gone by faster. In the past dos semanas, I’ve met over one hundred new people in what seems eerily similar to freshman orientation at UW. While it has the aesthetics of acclimating to a dorm (home-stay), overwhelmed with new friends whose names you get mixed up on a daily basis; the reality of living abroad immersed in a different culture and speaking a foreign language create an experience unlike anything mundane dormitories could offer.

The idea of living in a home-stay was a little strange at first, but I really enjoy mi señora, as we both like Game of Thrones (Juego de Tronos) and her cooking is fabulous. While I do miss cooking for myself, the culture of food is spectacular in Spain. Fruits and vegetables are considerably fresher, as every corner has a fruit store that stocks ripe fruit, ready to munch into the second you leave the tienda. Good food and time spent eating is also more valued. Here, every day is “interrupted” by a siesta to avoid the sweltering Andalucian heat and sit down for lunch with families or friends. Eating and living are entwined.

Last weekend, I visited Zahara beach and spent eight hours with a group of fun Americans and Spaniards, swimming, jumping of rocks and g generally avoiding jellyfish with limited group success.

Anoche (Last night), I went out for tapas with a couple of friends to a joint called Taberna Panduro. Simply put, I had the best tapas I’ve had so far, and while I’ve only been here two weeks, I’m fairly critical regarding food. And the food was immaculate. I ordered Gazpacho con Gambos (Gazpacho with Prawns) and Una Cigala (Small Lobster/Crayfish, we actually weren’t sure).  In the gazpacho, I could taste every ingredient, from the pre-roasted tomatoes, which bring out a stronger tomato flavor, to the little diced pieces of jamon. The cigala was served on top of a bed of perfectly cooked rice with so many different moving parts; I’ve already started to lose what was going on in it. While I enjoyed a fantastic glass of Loess wine, a white verdejo,

I pondered whether to order the house soufflé served with ice cream. Well, I gave in and did not regret it. Initially, I was hesitant to go out for tapas since I had un poco examen the next day, but after tasting the food… I was in culinary nirvana, as all my senses were awakened in a way I can’t describe.

Simply put, Pepe, the chef of Taberna Panduro has set an incredibly high bar for all tapas bars I’ll visit in the next three months. It’s my hunch that rather than finding a better place, I’ll continue to revisit their exquisite wine selection and originally modern tapas menu. Not because I don’t look for better tapas joints, but because I think it’ll be hard to find better ones.

P.s. I still need to post my bread pudding recipe and if you notice the stray Spanish words in the post, it’s because I can’t help it. I think I’m going to try to make every other post in Spanish, to practice my Spanish, but I will most likely still post in English as well. I haven’t painstakingly spellchecked and proffread this post to my normal standards, so let me know what’s not to par

Peace,

Ray

One thought on “The First Two Weeks of Sevilla and a Short Tapas Rave

  1. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this web site. I’m hoping the same high-grade blog post from you in the upcoming also. In fact your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own web site now. Really the blogging is spreading its wings fast. Your write up is a great example of it.

Leave a Reply

