Shiitake Gyro

Creativity can hit like a whirlwind and leave just as quickly.

Last week while examining the contents of my fridge on “meatless Monday”, I saw the remnants of my my mother’s book club party (pita bread and hummus) and the fresh shiitakes and cilantro I’d picked up the day before. After a quick period of deliberation I decided I would make mushroom gyros with a homemade tzatziki sauce.

Sauteed mushrooms, basmati rice mixed with a homemade chipotle sauce, a fresh salsa and finely grated purple carrot made up the innards of my gyros.

Gyro Ingredients:

Olive Oil

Shiitake Mushrooms

Cilantro

Carrot

Rice

Fresh Salsa:

1 Tblsp Olive Oil

1 Tblsp Lemon Juice

Minced Red Pepper

Minced Onion

Small bunch of Cilantro

Tzatziki (I altered the recipe due to some missing ingredients):

Original Yogurt Recipe

I used:

Lemon Juice

5 Cloves of Garlic

Greek Yogurt

Salt

Pepper

Cayenne Pepper

Green Onions

_DSC0102

Steps

1. Start yogurt recipe according to the link recipe. Must be started a good hour before you plan to eat, as the excess water must be drained from the yogurt.

2. Cook rice (twice as much water as rice), which generally takes at least 20 minutes with the lid on and simmering.

2. Add 2 Tblsp of Olive Oil to a pan and heat to medium heat

3. Chop the shiitakes if desired, and season with fresh garlic, saltand a pinch of crushed red pepper. (I consider them done when they have become soft and have begun to release liquid)

4. While the mushrooms cook, mince your bell pepper, onion and mix with olive oil, lemon juice and minced cilantro. Separately, grate your carrot.

5. Once your mushrooms and rice are done, you can begin to assemble your gyro. I placed the rice at the bottom, followed by the mushrooms, fresh pepper salsa, carrots, tzatziki and a cilantro garnish.

This recipe is very flexible, as I more or less made it up on the spot. Be creative with what you use and have fun!

These veggie gyros should get more fun as more ingredients become available in spring and summer.

Next up, Chorizo Pizza (overloaded with veggies of course)

Leave a Reply

