A Fall Recap: Mile High Air, Hatch Chiles and Lots of Curry

Since I reanimated my blog a couple days ago, I’ve noticed the four-month gap has left a lot of good food unposted and many stories untold. This post doesn’t really include any recipes, but pictures and short captions for each one.

Gozo Pig Roast

 

Here is a whole roasted pig that we brought to a local bakery in Gozo, Malta last August. The hog was roasted with onions, apples and cheap whiskey in the cavity, while the skin was covered with herbs, salt, pepper, and honey.

Lentil Veggie Burger

After making a pot of red lentils the night before, my roommate and I decided to use the leftovers to make veggie burger patties. They were delicious.

Garam Masala Chicken

Since I moved to Denver, David (my roommate) and I have made it a habit of making curry every week with fresh whole spices and herbs. He spent all summer “apprenticing” under his Indian lab mate in the correct method to make certain curries. Using a home ground garam masala mix I concocted, we scarfed this meal down faster than the Serrano peppers could register.

Cider Braised Short Ribbed on a bed of Buttered Cabbage

Good quality meat can be expensive and hard to figure into a grad school budget. That’s why we jumped at clearance prices on short ribs in Whole Foods one week, and slow roasted these ribs with onions, garlic, rosemary, thyme, apples, apple cider vinegar and salt/pepper.

_DSC0074

End of Season extra-ripe Heirloom Tomatoes from Arvada, Colorado produced by our favorite tomato farmers.

Heirloom Salmorejo topped with Pine Nuts, Parmesan and Swiss Chard

My own twist on Córdoban Salmorejo with the addition of pine nuts, swiss chard and grated parmesan cheese.

Fried Butternut Squash Pasta w/ Pine Nuts and Parmesan

Hands down, this meal embodies fall for me as much as any other meal. With the warm colors of butternut squash, toasted pine nuts, and farfalle (bowtie) pasta, fried in unison with sunflower oil, this concoction brings me back to living in the midwest, where sunflower oil is produced in mass and squash grow everywhere.

This is more or less a gastronomic recap of my fall in Denver, and I hope to post more as I relish my winter break in the Winter Wonderland and prepare to head back to the Mile High City soon.

Leave a Reply

