Chicken Mulligatawny

With all my Seinfeld enthusiasm, I’m actually a bit surprised I’ve never made mulligatawny before. Creamy and spicy, this soup warms the soul.

_DSC0090

I doubled the recipe so I could freeze half of it, so if you want to make a normal batch, cut the ingredients in half.

Ingredients for the soup pot

3½ lbs. Chicken thighs & drumsticks

4 Celery ribs, roughly chopped ¼ in thick

3 Carrots, roughly chopped ½ in thick

2 Onions, roughly sliced

¾ lb. chopped Mushrooms (I used crimini)

6 Sprigs of parsley

10 cups Chicken Stock

2 Bay leaves

1 tbsp. Thyme

Ingredients for large saucepan

1 cup finely chopped Onion

4 tbsp. Flour

6 tbsp. butter or extra-virgin olive oil

2 tbsp. ground Garam Masala Curry Mix (check out Garam Masala Chicken for recipe)

1 cup cooked Brown Basmati Rice

1 cup Heavy Cream

18 oz. Mango Chutney (Optional)

  1. Combine the chicken, celery, carrot, onion (roughly sliced), mushrooms, parsley, bay leaves, thyme and chicken stock in a pot at least 6 qt. big. Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat and let simmer, covered, until the chicken is cooked through, about 15 to 20 minutes. Remove the chicken to a plate to cool. Continue simmering the soup for 45 minutes. When the chicken is cool, remove the meat from the bones and set meat aside. While the soup cooks, start your rice so it is done before your soup is done simmering.
  2. Heat the butter in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add the onion and sauté until translucent, about 7 minutes. Stir in the flour and curry powder and cook for 1 minute. Gradually whisk this mixture into your pot of soup and bring to a light boil. Let simmer for 10 minutes.
  3. Stir in rice, cream (and 16 oz. mango chutney if you have it or desire it) and return to simmer.
  4. Add the shredded chicken to the soup and serve hot.

 

I pirated the base of this recipe from a wonderful cookbook, Wild Flavors by Didi Emmons, but I made some structural changes to “Nina’s Mulligatawny”. I added more mushrooms, more stock, bay leaves, thyme and used my own curry mix rather than a store bought curry powder. However, I did not use chutney, because I could not find any at the store and I also chose not to strain all the vegetables from the stock before adding the flour mix, which the original recipe called for. In the future, I may add some cayenne to give it some kick.

 

However you choose to make this wonderful soup, I don’t believe you can go wrong. It reminded me of chicken wild rice soup, but more unique with the addition of curry powder. Overall, this has been one of my favorite soups and finally, I would like to thank my co-chef, the lovely Sierra, for her help in making a soup from one of my favorite Seinfeld episodes a delicious reality. She also humbled me by owning me in three straight games of backgammon.

Here are some tunes to jam to while you let your mulligatawny stew, as well as a clip from the infamous “Soup Nazi” episode.

Seinfeld – Soup Nazi

Breezleblocks – Alt- J

Smooth – Santana

 

2 thoughts on “Chicken Mulligatawny

  1. Very irrelevant question for you – what are your thoughts on a cast iron skillet? Looking into getting one and not really sure what size/type/price and if it’s worth it.

  2. I’m a huge fan of cast iron!! I have a 10 in cast iron skillet, and I love it with all my heart. If I had to take one pan with me to a desert island, it would be that one. They last forever if they’re taken care of properly, and can be used on the stove top and in the oven. I have only recently had a problem with mine, and it has to do with the electric stove in my apartment not having the most flat surface.

    Overall, I would definitely recommend one as they turn into family heirlooms if shown some love and care. I actually got mine from my Grandfather, who no longer cooks, and it is over 30 years old, but good as new due to proper maintenance.

Leave a Reply

