Skillet-Baked Eggs with Tomatoes, Rice, and a Pinch of Curry

Yesterday morning, I was feeling quite adventurous and hungry from a late night, which ended with Denver getting dumped with snow. In that adventurous spirit, I tried a new method of making eggs, Eggs baked in a skillet. I have always liked how the yolks stick out on top of everything you have cooked, like eyes staring back at you, so I will start by describing the make up of my “open eyed” egg dish.

Egg Baked Goodness

  1. To start, I used my cast iron pan (read:baby), and added about 2 tbsp of olive oil to the pan and heated to medium-low. While the pan heats, chop your onion (I sliced mine into thin strips), and roughly chop 4 cloves of garlic. Add to the oil, and if they start to brown too fast, turn your heat down.
  2. Once the onions and garlic are cooking, put your pot of rice on (or any grain really), and begin to chop your leafy greens. I used swiss chard.
  3. After the onions and garlic have become translucent, add tomatoes (fresh or canned), basil, oregano, a pinch of salt, and crushed red pepper. Make sure you stir every couple minutes to prevent the mixture from sticking to the pan.
  4. When the tomatoes seem integrated into your onion mixture, stir in 1½ tsp of curry (I used my own garam masala blend), and let simmer for 5-10 minutes. By now your rice should be done (or almost done). Preheat the oven to 350 degree (Fahrenheit).
  5. Add thinly sliced greens to your simmering pan of goodness, and after about two minutes, mix in your rice (or you can serve the rice separately if you’re a purist).
  6. After allowing everything to mix on the heat for a couple minutes, crack your eggs in a bowl (keeping the yolks intact), and pour them directly on top of your warm tomato mixture. Place your oven safe pan in the oven for about 5 minutes. [I did mine for 10 minutes, and it overcooked the yolks, in my opinion]
  7. Once the eggs are cooked to your preference, remove your food from the oven and serve while hot. Voila!! You have made a beautiful, tasty breakfast

This breakfast provided a fairly healthy, and filling base for me to do nothing throughout the entire day, except eat. Hereby fulfilling my plans for the day after my proposal defense.

 

If you have any questions, or I was vague with any of my instructions, please let me know, as I simply made it up as I went, and I may have forgotten a step or six…

P.S. You get bonus points if you work on a crossword while you cook this!

One thought on “Skillet-Baked Eggs with Tomatoes, Rice, and a Pinch of Curry

Leave a Reply

