A Plate of Leftover Food

Recently, I dove into the thousands and thousands of pictures that occupy a good portion of my computer’s memory, and found a found a couple of pictures that represent my daily experiences with food over the last two to three months. While this post contains no instruction, or recipe, don’t worry! There will be more recipes to come in the very near future.

Banana Foster Waffles with Thick Cut Bacon
A Pile of Waffles, made in the Deep North
This is a trick picture, because this is obviously my friend’s ridiculously cute dog, Odi

Shortly after Christmas, a couple buddies and I drove up to Northern Wisconsin to escape the Twin Cities. After a couple days up at my friend’s cabin, we began to slip out of our city-adapted lifestyles, and started to take things a little slower. As we started up and used an older waffle iron, we created a pile of hot waffles, one at time. While the waffles sizzled, we played endless games of cribbage while drinking hot coffee, and planning the evening’s dinner. All the while, the prodigal puppy, Odi, spread out on the couch, using his ninety pound frame to take up the majority of a four person couch. The sun rose, the sun set, and each day that passed, our bodies adjusted to a more natural cycle of winter living. Some good food was consumed as well.

Beet and Sweet Potato Latkes
_DSC0238
Potato Latkes

On the 8th night of Hanukkah, ten friends of varying faiths began to arrive for my 1st annual “Latke party”. Friends [read: family] began to pour in the door, and naturally asked, “can I help with anything?”. Myself, being rightfully flustered and short on time, helped set up teams of cookie frosters, veggie cutters, latke fryers, aioli makers, and bottle openers. Together, we fried up potato, beet, and sweet potato latke’s, and paired them with a chive aioli, maple sour cream, apple sauce, craft beer, endless french cookies, and an extensive cheese platter. Needless to say, this was a night of new connections, re-connections, and a continuation of growth.

IMG_3153_2
Korean Chicken and Egg Breakfast Taco: a combination of leftovers and fresh eggs

This one will be short. At least three days a week, I eat eggs in some form. Often, I use leftovers. With different fresh ingredients, or whatever is hiding in the fridge, I keep myself from getting bored.

IMG_3556
Fresh Ramen, stir fried with peppers, carrots, scallions and rare flank steak

There is a beautiful simplicity in creating a stir fry. They are fast, and easily adapt to whatever you have. The looseness with which I throw together stir fries seems to account for my inability to recreate some of the most delicious dishes I have made. Simply put, the flavors are fleeting, and my hands add different sauces, and spices faster than I can write it down. But I’m ok with this.

IMG_3581_2
Spinach Penne with a garlic infused olive oil sauce, topped with bacon

Comfort food. Bacon, parmesan, and olive oil.

Till next time, spend some time cooking, and make sure to share that food with people you love.

-Ray

Leave a Reply

