Cider Marinade for Chicken

On Friday afternoon, I wandered my way into the Central Meat Market, a local butcher, for the first time. Although it was 5 p.m. on the eve of independence day, there was no line curving out the door, or any shortage of good looking meat.

While there were very affordable cuts of beef, and pork, I settled on buying two whole chickens. I think it’s always better to buy the whole bird, because it’s cheaper, and is a more ecologically minded practice than buying individual cuts.  Dis-articulating a chicken does not take much time, but if you have never done it, here is a great video on how to do it in less than 5 minutes. After cutting up the chicken, I stuff the pieces into a fairly large tupperware container.

Next, I whisked together a a handful of ingredients (listed below), and poured them on top of the chicken, and let it steep for 20 hours.

image1

Ingredients:

Olive Oil

Cider Vinegar

Smoked Paprika

Pinch of Salt

Urfa Pepper (a mild turkish pepper with strong coffee overtones)

Ground Black Pepper

Minced Garlic

Juice from half a lemon

After I threw the chicken on the grill, I took the remaining marinade juices and reduced them into a barbecue sauce on the stovetop.

Unfortunately, I forgot to take any pictures, and it was all eaten fairly quickly yesterday, but trust me when I say it was delicious! And oh so simple

Leave a Reply

