Tardy Thanksgiving Recap: Pies and Birds

There are about three days till Thanksgiving, and as I sit at Midway in Chicago, I’ve started to add up everything I’m gonna need for a pumpkin pie, and the turkey. By tomorrow afternoon, I’ll have begun hoarding all the ingredients I need for my Upside-down Honey Roasted Turkey. If you have any questions or suggestions, I’d love to hear them.

Thanksgiving Turkey

 

Feel free to ask any questions, or leave any feedback you have from trying a recipe. Eat well!

 

foodbyray

It’s been a while since I last posted, but I have some Thanksgiving goodies for you to try out.

This Thanksgiving, I scaled back the number of dishes I took on , and ‘only’ made a Bourbon-Honey Roasted Turkey, a green bean salad, and an array of homemade pies [including: sweet potato, and pumpkin].

About 20 hours before go time, I began the process of brining the turkey, and here is my brine recipe, which I adapted for a 15 lb. bird. Overall, everything was fantastic, especially the juicy, succulent turkey.


Turkey Brine

Time

  • Prep time: 15 minutes
  • Brining period: 20 to 24 hrs

Ingredients
Makes enough brine for one 14- to 18-pound turkey

  • 6 quarts (24 cups) water
  • 1 1/2 cups coarse salt
  • 6 bay leaves
  • 2 tablespoons whole coriander seeds
  • 1 Whole Star Anise pod
  • 2 tablespoons whole black peppercorns
  • 1 stick of cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon black or…

View original post 1,211 more words

Leave a Reply

